homepage logo

School Board Recognition Week

By Staff | May 3, 2012

The Emmetsburg Community School District is joining Iowa’s other 350 community school districts in honoring its elected school board members next week. The Week of May 6-12 is designated as Iowa School Board Recognition Week and this year’s theme, “Sowing the Seeds for Success” honors the men and women who unselfishly give of their time as volunteer school board members to their local school districts.

The Emmetsburg Community School Board is comprised of members Kathy Roethler, Rick Brennan, B.J. Schany, Kim Campbell, Scott Kibbie, Tammy Naig and Karla Anderson.

Being a school board member offers an individual the opportunity to provide leadership through responsibilities that range from financial stewardship to taking the steps necessary to ensure the highest possible quality curriculum in their district to make sure all students will be adequately prepared to “grow and prosper” when they graduate.

“These men and women volunteer countless hours of unpaid time to provide the best possible education for our students, and we want to recognize that in this community,” said Emmetsburg Superintendent John Joynt. “As your elected leaders, they represent you in their continuing commitment to local citizen control and decision-making for our public schools. Too often the efforts of school board members go unrecognized and unrewarded, so let us take this opportunity to thank them for their service.”

“Even though we are making a special effort in May to show appreciation for our school board members, we recognize their contributions reflect a year-long effort on their part,” said Joynt, “They are dedicated individuals who are committed to improving student achievement and to striving for the best for all of our students.”

Another set of local residents serving as board members for two other educational organizations include Linda Twait of Emmetsburg, who serves on the Prairie Lakes Area Education Association Board, and Pat Kibbie, also of Emmetsburg, who serves on the Iowa Lakes Community College Board of Trustees.