homepage logo

Contests Emerge In City Elections

By Staff | Sep 27, 2011

Contests have emerged in two Palo Alto communities for the upcoming city elections. City election date is Tuesday, Nov. 8.

In Emmetsburg, there is a race for mayor. Incumbent mayor John F. Schad will be up against former mayor Myrna Heddinger.

There is also a race in the City Council At-Large position. Incumbent council representative Sandy Pelzer will face Bill Burdick, Jr.

City Council Ward II councilman Tony Kauten is seeking re-election unchallenged. City Council Ward IV councilman Corey Gramowski is also seeking re-election unchallenged.

In Ruthven, there will be a race for City Council. Three will be elected to Ruthven City Council from four candidates. Incumbents Justin Henningsen and Dan Schnetzer are seeking re-election. Also running for council are John P. Conlon and David J. Kirk. Ruthven incumbent councilman Patrick Johnson is not seeking re-election.

Ruthven Mayor Sean Gray is seeking re-election unchallenged.

Ayrshire Ayrshire councilman Lonnie J. Kathman is running for Mayor. Deryll Swanson is not seeking re-election.

Incumbent Ayrshire council representatives Chad Buettner and Jennifer Buettner are seeking re-election and Michael Garrelts is also running for the council. Ayrshire voters will elect three.

Curlew No nomination papers were filed in the City of Curlew. Voters will elect a mayor and five council representatives to serve two year terms.

Currently serving in Curlew are: Wyman Travis, mayor; council representatives Barbara Barrett, Stacy Lomax, John Barrett, Becky Travis and Robby Johnson.

Cylinder Art Mueller is seeking re-election as Cylinder Mayor. He is running unopposed.

Cylinder Councilmen seeking re-election are Kurt Bonnstetter, Harry Bormann, Kevin Long and David Waldschmidt. Beth Elman has filed nomination papers for the Cylinder Council. Voters will elect five. Incumbent council representative Deb Weisbrod is not seeking re-election.

Graettinger All incumbents are seeking re-election, unchallenged, in Graettinger.

Mayor Kevin Hanson is seeking re-election. Council representatives Christine McGrauth and Daniel Skattebo are seeking re-election. Margaret Tatman, who is currently filling a vacancy on the council, is seeking election.

Mallard Two incumbent Mallard Council representatives are seeking re-election, unchallenged. Lyle Larson and Glenn Simonsen are running for another term. Tara Hoch, who is currently filling a vacancy on the council, I seeking election unchallenged.

Rodman Benjamin Bishop has filed nomination papers to serve as Mayor of Rodman. Incumbent mayor Jean Hyslop is not seeking re-election.

There will need to be some write-in candidates to fill the Rodman City Council. Incumbent councilmen Danny E. Hutchison, Sean Leners and Ronald G. Thilges have filed nomination papers for re-election. However, Rodman voters need to elect five people to serve on the council. Incumbent council representative Rose Fokken is not seeking re-election, and there is one vacant position on the council.

West Bend Marilyn Schutz is seeking re-election as Mayor of West Bend.

West Bend voters will elect three to the council. Incumbents Paul Lauck and Joseph Montag have been joined by Susan Traub on the ballot. Incumbent council representative Mary Jane Hanselman is not seeking re-election.

Chris Newton, who is currently filling a vacancy on the council, is seeking election unchallenged.