homepage logo

Emmetsburg School Board Approves New Hires, Resignation

By Staff | Jul 12, 2011

During a special meeting of the Emmetsburg Community Schools Board of Education on Thursday, July 7, two vacancies were filled and a resignation submitted.

The board accepted the resignation of Abbee Gappa, who served as paraeducator, freshmen girls’ basketball coach, and freshmen girls’ softball coach for the district. Gappa has accepted a teacher associate position at Clay Central-Everly.

Board Member Laure Egland moved to accept Gappa’s resignation and wished her well in the future. The board unanimously approved the resignation.

In other staff-related business, the board considered the recommendations made by Principal Jay Jurrens.

“For middle school special education, I’ve offered a contract to Shalene Naig. Shalene previously taught in the Graettinger-Terril district and last year she taught special education in the Estherville district,” Jurrens said. “She is certified in K-12 for special education, Level I, and is currently working on Level II. We do not need Level II at this time, but it’s something that could help us out in the future.”

Jurrens also recommended that the board approve a contract with Fred Matlage for the assistant principal position.

“Fred has five years of teaching experience at the middle school level. He’s a social studies teacher and also taught for five at the high school level. Most recently he was in the Sibley district. Last year he took over as their technology director,” Jurrens said.

Matlage has two master’s degrees, one in history and one in educational leadership.

“I met Mr. Matlage,” said Egland. “He’s a nice guy. I’ve heard very good things about him.”

“I sat in on an interview, also, and I was very impressed,” added Linda Tienter, board member. “I think he’s a good fit.”

With no further discussion, Egland moved to approve contracts for Naig and Matlage. The board unanimously approved the new hires.

The 2011-2012 school year is scheduled to begin Wednesday, Aug. 24. School registration will be held on Wednesday, Aug. 10, from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. and on Thursday, Aug. 11, from 7:30 a.m. to 2 p.m.