homepage logo

Appointments Start The Year For County Supervisors

By Staff | Jan 13, 2011

Routine appointments were a major part of the first meeting of the New Year for the Palo Alto County Board of Supervisors on Jan. 4. The supervisors also adopted a number of resolutions during the reorganizational session.

The Supervisors introduced and approved several resolutions for Palo Alto County Engineer Joel Fantz. The resolutions included designating Fantz as the county’s authorized agent to execute the certification of completion of work and final acceptance with plans and specifications in connection with all Farm to Market and Federal Aid construction projects in Palo Alto County. Also introduced and approved was a resolution authorizing Fantz to close secondary roads for scheduled construction projects, as well as closing roads temporarily under special circumstances such as maintenance or natural disasters. Additionally, a Right-Of-Way compliance agreement with the Iowa Department of Transportation was also introduced and approved by the board members.

Board members introduced and approved a resolution approving official financial depositories for various county officers. Auditor Gary Leonard, Sheriff Dennis Goeders, and Recorder Bonnie Whitney were all authorized to deposit funds in the Wells Fargo Bank in Emmetsburg, while Whitney and Goeders were also authorized to deposit county funds in the Iowa Trust & Savings Bank in Emmetsburg. The Supervisors also designated Wells Fargo Bank, Iowa Trust & Savings Bank and Laurens State Bank, all of Emmetsburg along with Bank Plus of Graettinger, West Iowa Bank and Farmers State Bank in West Bend and the Iowa State Bank in Ruthven all as authorized depositories for amounts not to exceed $15 million in county funds each by County Treasurer Mary Hilfiker.

Several re-appointments were made, including the re-appointment of Tim McCain of Emmetsburg to act as the county’s Tax Agent, along with the supervisors re-appointing themselves to various committees and boards for the upcoming year.

Supervisor Ed Noonan was re-appointed to the DHS Advisory Board and Supervisor Ron Graettinger was appointed as alternate. Jerry Hofstad was re-appointed to the Cherokee Mental Health Advisory Board, with Maureen Sandberg as alternate. Keith Wirtz was re-appointed to the Seasons Center Board and ISP Board with Hofstad as alternate to both boards.

Ann Stillman was appointed to a seat on the County’s Mental Health Appeals Board along with Ron Ludwig and Peg McNally. Ed Noonan received re-appointment to both the R.I.D.E.S Board and the Northwest Iowa Consortium Board with Ron Graettinger as alternate. Jerry Hofstad was also re-appointed to the North Central Emergency Response Commission with Supervisor Leo Goeders as the alternate.

Keith Wirtz was re-appointed to the Iowa Drainage Advisory Board with Hofstad as alternate, and Goeders was re-appointed as the Supervisors’ liaison to the County E911 Board with Hofstad as alternate.

Goeders was also re-appointed to the Third Judicial District board and Graettinger was re-appointed to the Decategorization Board, while Keith Wirtz was re-appointed to the county’s H.I.P.A.A. Compliance Board.

The five newspapers publishing in the county, “The Reporter” and “The Democrat,” as well as the combined “West Bend Journal,” “Graettinger Times,” and “Ruthven Zipcode” were designated as official county newspapers for legal publications during the year.

The Supervisors also reappointed the members of the county Eminent Domain Compensation Board during the session and then appointed Pam Studer of Graettinger to replace Denise Flaherty on the County Local Health Board, while re-appointing Dr. Frank Veltri to the Local Health Board as well. Allen Stangl of Ayrshire was re-appointed to a term on the Palo Alto County Planning and Zoning Board of Adjustment.

Supervisor Ron Graettinger was re-appointed to serve on the Upper Des Moines Opportunity Board and the Compass Point Board, with Leo Goeders as the alternate to both boards. Jerry Hofstad was re-appointed to the Enterprise Zone Board and to the Central Iowa Juvenile Detention Center Board, with Goeders as his alternate and Miriam Patton was appointed to serve on the Resource Conservation and Development (RC&D) Board,

The Supervisors also re-affirmed a rate of $8 per hour plus mileage as allowed by the Internal Revenue Service for Township Trustees’ compensation. They set a minimum fee of $20 for meetings of the trustees.