homepage logo

Palo Alto County Compensation Board To Talk Salaries Friday

By Staff | Dec 2, 2010

The topic of salaries for Palo Alto County’s elected officials will be the subject of discussion this Friday, Dec. 3, during the annual meeting of the Palo Alto County Compensation Board. The Compensation Board will convene at 2 p.m. this Friday in the supervisor’s boardroom of the Palo Alto County Courthouse with an agenda to discuss salaries for the county’s elected officials for fiscal year 2011-2012.

As set forth by the Code of Iowa, the county’s Compensation Board determines recommendations for salaries of the elected officials of each county. The Compensation Board is a group of citizens appointed to represent the various elected officials of county government.

Compensation Board members review the wages paid to the elected officials, and then review additional information before making a recommendation for a salary to the county Board of Supervisors. The salary recommendation may be for an increase or a freeze in the amount of compensation for the officials.

Once the salary recommendation has been made, the final decision lies with the county Board of Supervisors, who may approve the Compensation Board’s recommendation, or they may lower the recommendation, but the salary may not be raised higher than the original recommendation established by the Compensation Board.

During its’ last session Dec. 10 of 2009, the Compensation Board recommended salary increases of one percent for the county’s elected officials for the current fiscal year. However, the Board of Supervisors voted to implement a wage freeze for the elected officials, based on the condition of the economy at the beginning of the year. That action left salaries for the elected officials at the following levels for fiscal year 2010-2011: Attorney – $67,391; Auditor, Recorder, Treasurer – $48,732; Sheriff – $58,544; Supervisors – $24,008.

Members of the Palo Alto County Compensation Board are John D. Brown of Emmetsburg, representing the County Auditor; Ned Munn of Emmetsburg, representing the County Recorder; Howard Garton of West Bend, representing the County Treasurer; John Spies of Emmetsburg, who represents the County Sheriff and Allen Stangl of Ayrshire and Francis Schealler of Graettinger, both representing the County Board of Supervisors. Bill Zeigler of Emmetsburg serves as the representative for the County Attorney.

The Compensation Board meeting is open to the public. Public comment, either oral or written, is welcomed.