homepage logo

Various Positions Filled In Election

By Staff | Nov 4, 2010

Along with contested races in Tuesday’s election, several non-contested positions were filled along with non-partisan positions by the voters.

In voting for Palo Alto County Supervisor District One, incumbent Keith Wirtz ran unopposed and received 727 votes. County Treasurer Mary Kunz Hilfiker, running unopposed, received 3,045 votes and incumbent County Recorder Bonnie Whitney also earned re-election, receiving 3,024 votes.

In voting for non-partisan positions in the county, two members were elected to the Palo Alto County Hospital Board of Trustees. Jim Hobart earned 2,477 votes and Dawn Schmidt received 2,306 votes for those positions. For two seats on the Palo Alto Soil and Water Conservation District Board of Commissioner, Kenneth Ebeling received 2,242 votes and Michael F. Kollasch received 2,281 votes.

The Palo Alto County Agricultural Extension Council had five vacancies to fill. Craig Merrill was elected with 2,341 votes, Glen Smith received 2,150 votes, Chris Reding received 2,079 votes and Merrylea Clasing earned 1,996 votes. A write-in filled the final vacancy, with that position going to Paul Molitor.

Several Township trustee and clerks were also elected in Tuesday’s balloting. In Fairfield Township, Howard Finnestad was elected trustee with 48 votes, and Donna M. Besch was elected Township Clerk with 28 votes. Bert Naig was elected Independence Township Trustee with 53 votes and Randy Jacobs was elected Township Clerk with 50 votes.

In Silver Lake Township, Vitus J. Terveer was elected as trustee with 78 votes, while Darrel Reed was elected as the Township Clerk with 84 votes. West Bend Township residents elected Thomas Gambell as trustee with 70 votes and Donald Banwart as the Township Clerk with 76 votes.

Locally, voters gave their approval to a Constitutional Amendment for the Iowa Water and Land Legacy Amendment/Trust Fund with 1,812 yes votes, while 1,463 votes were cast against the amendment question. However, the question of calling a Constitutional Convention for the purpose of amending the Constitution was soundly rejected, with 2,038 no votes against 1,162 votes yes.