homepage logo

Close Outcomes In Local Elections

By Staff | Nov 3, 2010

With 57 percent voter turnout in Tuesday’s elections, voters in Palo Alto County appear to have unseated the incumbent County Attorney, as well as approving the continuation of casino gaming in the county. Voters also approved an Extension referendum question and re-elected two incumbent Supervisors, as well as a third Supervisor, the County Treasurer and Recorder to their posts.

While all vote totals are unofficial until the official canvas of the vote on Nov. 9, it appears that Lyssa Henderson has won the Palo Alto County Attorney’s race, narrowly edging out incumbent Peter C. Hart by 42 votes. Henderson received 1,955 votes while Hart earned 1,913 votes.

In another contested election, Palo Alto County voters gave their votes to Lannie Miller for the Iowa House District Seven race over John Wittneben. Miller received 2,101 votes to Wittneben’s 1,753 votes in the county. However, the final determination in the District Seven race will come later, as votes from Emmet and Kossuth Counties must also be added into those totals.

Other local contests included Supervisor District Two, where incumbent Jerry Hofstad withstood the challenge of Nancy Wentzel. Hofstad received 518 votes, while Wentzel earned 466. In Supervisor District Five, incumbent Ed Noonan won re-election over challenger Jim Neighbors, as Noonan earned 491 votes and Neighbors received 276.

The two public measure questions also won approval from the voters. The reauthorization of gaming in the county was approved in an overwhelming fashion, with 3,286 yes votes and just 554 no votes. The referendum for the Palo Alto County Extension Council received 1,864 yes votes and 1,604 no votes to pass by 260 votes.

At the statewide level, Palo Alto County voters gave their support to former Governor Terry Branstad over Governor Chet Culver, with Branstad receiving 58 percent of the vote with 2,266 votes while Culver received 37 percent of the vote, or 1,451 votes.

Complete precinct by precinct results will be published in the Nov. 4 issue of The Democrat.