homepage logo

EHS to Award 67 Diplomas This Sunday

By Staff | May 21, 2010

EHS CLASS OF 2010 – Members of the senior class at Emmetsburg High School will participate in commencement exercises, which begin at 2 p.m. on Sunday, May 23, in the high school gymnasium. Sixty-seven graduates will receive diplomas. Pictured (from left) are Taylor McCartan, Jake Morris, Emily Lowman, Matt Ballman, and Kourtney Clasing. – Lori Hall photo

The high school gymnasium will be packed with family and friends this Sunday afternoon, watching as the Emmetsburg High School Class of 2010 accepts their high school diplomas.

The classmates have chosen the class motto of “Do not go where the path may lead; go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.” Their class colors are purple and green, and class flower is the gerbera daisy.

Senior Class President is Kathryn Malm, Kourtney Clasing is Class Vice President, Class Secretary is Maddison Woodruff, and Amanda Pugh is Class Treasurer. Senior Student Council members include: Matt Ballman, Ellie Garrelts, Allory Kliegl, Wesley Luna-Smith, and Blake Schany.

Sixty-seven members of the Emmetsburg High School Class of 2010 will participate in commencement exercises this Sunday, May 23. The ceremony begins at 2 p.m. in the high school gymnasium.

The Emmetsburg High School Concert Band, under the direction of Aaron Phillips, band director, will play a pre-commencement concert, featuring “Kindred Spirits” and the “Star Spangled Banner.” Phillips will then conduct the band in the traditional processional, “Pomp and Circumstance.”

Chelsey Rouse and Molli Schmeling, Junior Class Marshals, will escort members of the Senior Class to their seats. Kathryn Malm, Class President, will serve as Mistress of Ceremonies.

David Fog, vocal music director, will lead the Emmetsburg High School Concert Choir in their vocal selections “Dare to Dream” and “100 Years.”

Class Salutatorian Blake Schany and Class Valedictorian Frankie Schmidt will provide the commencement address.

Principal Jay Jurrens will then present the Emmetsburg High School Class of 2010. Jurrens will be assisted in the awarding of diplomas by Board of Education President Karla Anderson, Board of Education Vice President Stephen Pelzer, and Superintendent John Joynt.