homepage logo

New Disaster Declaration Includes Palo Alto

By Staff | Mar 30, 2010

WEST DES MOINES, Iowa – The U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Iowa Homeland Security & Emergency Management Division (HSEMD) announced late last week that 15 additional counties affected by the severe winter storm in January are now eligible for disaster infrastructure assistance.

Adams, Boone, Buena Vista, Cherokee, Clay, Dallas, Emmet, Greene, Hardin, Ida, Monona, Palo Alto, Pocahontas, Story, and Union Counties have been added to the March 2, 2010, major disaster declaration.

Now, local governments and certain private non-profit organizations, including utilities, in 27 Iowa counties are eligible for reimbursement of eligible costs under FEMA’s Public Assistance Program.  The initial counties determined eligible for Public Assistance are Adair, Audubon, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Crawford, Guthrie, Harrison, Madison, Pottawattamie, Sac, and Shelby.

Applicants in the 15 add-on counties may be eligible for debris removal costs and expenses for emergency protective measures taken before, during and after the storms to protect public and private property, and for permanent repair to facilities due to the severe winter storm during Jan. 19-26, 2010.

The Public Assistance Program reimburses local governments, state agencies, and certain private non-profits that provide essential government services with federal funding for 75 percent of eligible costs. The State pays 10 percent of the eligible costs, and the applicant takes responsibility for the remaining 15 percent.

Since this storm did not meet the federal qualifications for individuals and families, the declaration will only address reimbursements for local governments and eligible non-profit organizations, and will not address personal or business losses.