homepage logo

Junior Misses Crowned At Sunday Pageant

By Staff | Mar 16, 2010

JUNIOR?MISS?ROYALTY - Hannah Bird, left, was crowned Irish Miss, while Cayle Carter, middle, was named the Little Miss Shamrock and Kayla Joyce, right, was named the LIttle Lassie during the 2010 Junior Miss Shamrock Pageants Sunday afternoon. The program, held at the Emmetsburg High School Auditorium, drew a capacity crowd to see the field of 23 young ladies compete for the three titles. More photos of the Junior Miss Pageants can be found on pages 10 and 11 of this issue of The Reporter. - Dan Voigt photo

With a capacity crowd on hand at the Emmetsburg High School Auditorium Sunday afternoon, three young ladies were crowned to officially start the Golden Anniversary of St. Patrick’s Week in Emmetsburg. The annual St. Patrick’s Junior Miss Pageants featured 24 young ladies competing for the three titles in the event.

After the songs were sung, the dances danced and the ballots tallied, Cayle Carter of Spencer was named as the new Little Miss Shamrock, while Kayla Joyce was crowned as the Little Lassie, with Hannah Bird being named as the Irish Miss.

The task of choosing the new titleholders fell to the judging panel of Glenda Bleckwenn, Kelly Swanson and Angie Helleseth, while Joan Bunda served as the auditor for the judges. With Mike Scott serving as the master of ceremonies, the program in traditional fashion.

“As the late Mickey Conlon always said, ‘It isn’t officially St. Pat’s week until the dancers dance,” Scott told the crowd. “So, let’s welcome the Irish Dancers to the stage.

As in past years, two groups of Irish Dancers entertained with their routines. Members of the fourth through seventh grade group include Alison Gould, Ashley Overberg, Avery Ringlaben, Bennie Greene, Branna Schutz, Caitlyn Manwarren, Gillian Nolan, Helena Fantz, Katie Hoffman, Kayla Joyce, Kiersten Duhn, Kindra Marges, Kylie Weisbrod, Laura Manwarren, Laura Moser, Mikki Mundus, Olivia Hampe, Olivia Smith, Shea Ehlert, Sydney Travis, Tara Harris and Tess VanDenHurk-Moran.

Members of the Celtic Cuties, the first through fourth graders, included Alexis Louwagie, Alison Laubenthal, Alison Merrill, April Cole, Betty Sue Strohman, Bryar Olson, Chloe Shiek, Hannah Adams, Hannah Merwald, Hannah VanHeuvelen, Jordan Miller, Maggie Nelson, Mary Nelson, Molly McCain, Molly Schany, Morgan Jamison, Rachel Duhn, Somer Hudson Anna Brennan and Tatum Iverson.

One the dancing was completed, it was time for the talent presentations by the contestants. The Little Miss candidates led off the performances, starting with the retiring 2009 Little Miss, Riley Shryock, who did a Jazz Dance. Cayle Carter, the daughter of Casey and Cassady Carter of Spencer, sang and danced to the “Good Ship Lollipop,” and wowed the audience and judges to win the title as Little Miss.

Also competing in the Little Miss competition were Olivia Sanders of Emmetsburg, who sang “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star” and Madison Manwarren of Emmetsburg sang “I’m A Little Teapot.” Autumn Young of Emmetsburg recited a poem about E’Hawk Pride for the talent competition and Jadyn Nelson recited “The Wearin’ O’ The Green.”

Hannah Adams of Emmetsburg sang “Butterfly Fly Away” and Tatum Iverson of Emmetsburg sang “Lullaby, Goodnight My Angel” to round out the Little Miss field of contestants.

The Little Lassie competition opened with last year’s winner, Hannah VanHeuvelen, who sang “Brand New Day” to open the division. After that, it was close competition between the nine contestants before the crown went to Kayla Joyce, the daughter of Pat and Tina Joyce of Emmetsburg, who sang the song “Happy Girl” in the talent competition to win the title.

Also competing for the crown were Bailey Naig of Emmetsburg who sang “There’s A Hero”, while Erin Poeppe tap danced to “I Just Can’t Wait To Be King”.  Alison Laubenthal of Emmetsburg played “My Heart Will Go On” as a piano solo, while Mary Nelson of Emmetsburg played the “Irish Washer Woman” on the piano. Chloe  Garman of Whittemore sang “New York, New York” while Shayla Horst of Ruthven danced to “I Know You Want Me.” Rachel Duhn of Emmetsburg sang “My Favorite Things” and Alexis Louwagie of Emmetsburg danced a ballet selection to “Lucky”.

For the Irish Miss portion of the program, the 2009 Irish Miss, Kendall Deitering danced a tap dance to “Big and Bad” to open the final competition before Hannah Bird, the daughter of Rick and Julie Bird of Emmetsburg, had the audience rocking to her vocal selection, “Stupid Cupid” to win the title of Irish Miss.

Also competing for the Irish Miss title were BriAna Campbell of Emmetsburg, who played a piano selection, “The River Flows in You.” Rachael Moore of Emmetsburg played a saxophone solo to “Loch Lomond”, while Alexa Naig sang “The Climb. Kiersten Aldous of Emmetsburg performed a jazz dance to “Party In The USA”, while Shelby Brindley sang “Jump, Then Fall”. Jenna  Wolfe played the piano selection Bella’s Lullaby and Kiersten Duhn played guitar and sang “Boondocks” in the talent competition.

While the final ballots were being tabulated, the current Miss Shamrock 2009, Justine Wagner of Emmetsburg, entertained the crowd with a violin solo before the contestants were brought back out on stage for the final crowning of the three titleholders.

The three young ladies will appear at various St. Pat’s activities through the week, including the Irish Ceili on Thursday night and the Miss Shamrock Pageant on Friday night at the high school auditorium. Then on Saturday, the trio will join the newly crowned Miss Shamrock to ride the St. Patrick’s Day Parade.