homepage logo

Jim Stillman Elected Treasurer Of National Soy Organization

By Staff | Dec 10, 2009

ANKENY –Iowa soybean farmer-leader Jim Stillman of Emmetsburg was recognized for his efforts last week by being elected to serve as treasurer of the United Soybean Board (USB).

Stillman is currently serving his second three-year term on the USB board, the national organization representing the soybean checkoff. In addition to serving on the USB executive board, he will again serve on the Domestic Marketing Committee, of which he has been a member for the past four years. He has recently been appointed to board of the U.S. Soybean Export Council (USSEC).

Stillman also continues to serve on the Soy Nutrition Institute (SNI) board and the Qualisoy board, organizations which include both industry and USB representatives.

“As a member of the USB executive committee, Jim is an excellent representative for our state’s soybean farmers,” said Delbert Christensen, an Audubon soybean farmer and president of the Iowa Soybean Association (ISA). “We are fortunate to have him in a leadership position with this national organization.”

USB is made up of 68 farmer-directors who oversee the investments of the soybean checkoff on behalf of all U.S. soybean farmers. Checkoff funds are invested in the areas of animal utilization, human utilization, industrial utilization, industry relations, market access and supply.

Stillman will be joined on the USB executive committee by Chairman Phil Bradshaw of Illinois, Vice Chairman Marc Curtis of Mississippi, Secretary Todd Allen of Arkansas, Vanessa Kummer of North Dakota, Lewis Bainbridge of South Dakota, Marty Ross of Delaware, Jim Call of Minnesota, Vicki Coughlin of Wisconsin and Rick Stern of New Jersey.

To learn more about ISA, visit its Web site at www.iasoybeans.com.

The Iowa Soybean Association develops policies and programs that help farmers expand profit opportunities while promoting environmentally sensitive production using the soybean checkoff and other resources. The Association is governed by an elected volunteer board of 21 farmers.