homepage logo

Institutional Advancement Moves Iowa Lakes Community College Ahead

By Staff | Nov 19, 2009

ESTHERVILLE – The Board of Trustees of Iowa Lakes Community College learned all the ways in which the Institutional Advancement office aids the college in fund raising and improved recognition in the eyes of the public at their meeting Nov. 17, in Estherville.

Jolene Rogers, Executive Director of Institutional Advancement, and Trish Morfitt, Events Coordinator, shared with the Trustees how their office supports the college priorities. 

Institutional Advancement works with two foundations. The Iowa Lakes Foundation has representatives from all five counties on the board. That foundation manages scholarships, events and activities in addition to providing general college program support. This foundation will be spearheading an effort to ensure renewal of the plant fund levy next fall. 

The other foundation is the Estherville Scholarship Foundation, which was established in 1982, and has representatives from Emmet County who oversee five major scholarships. 

Rogers also talked to the Trustees about how individuals or companies can give funds for scholarships, including a ‘named’ scholarship if the donation is at least $500 annually. In addition, a large variety of events are held throughout the five-county area in which the public can participate and raise money for scholarships. Also, Institutional Advancement works with the Alumni and Friends Association to build strong relationships with Iowa Lakes Alumni.

New faculty members were introduced to the board. Judy Cook, Executive Dean of Instruction and Development, shared that the Higher Learning Commission team gave college instructors high marks and praise for what they are doing in the classroom. Although she was unable to attend, Cook introduced Millie Tillotson, coordinator/instructor of Secondary Health in Spirit Lake.

Emmetsburg Executive Dean Tom Brotherton presented Tom Quastad, Agriculture Instructor, and Melissa Regelstad, Early Childhood Education/ Child Care Instructor. Unable to attend from the Emmetsburg campus were Jamey Gregersen, Nursing, and Mark Zabawa, Chemistry/Biology Instructor.  

Executive Dean of the Estherville campus, Darin Moeller, introduced Doug Enger, Wind Turbine Technology Instructor, Steve Homan, Wind Turbine Technology Instructor, and Jeff Weber, Criminal Justice Instructor.

In other business, the Trustees authorized college President Valerie Newhouse to sign an agreement and sell the college’s Renewable Energy Credits for a three-year period starting in 2010. This will allow for funding of the development of other renewable energy projects at the college.

After a presentation from Delaine Hiney, Executive Director of Facilities Management, the Trustees gave permission to move forward with designing an eight-plex housing facility that would have an intended capacity of 32-40 students. The eight-plex would be located north of the four-plexes built in 2006 in Estherville and would be two levels–one four-plex on top of another, using the same footprint as the college has in the past. The building would be block interior and brick exterior to match the existing dorms.  

The Trustees also gave permission to Hiney to advertise for bids for an Emmetsburg project to build the ‘shell’ of a Construction Technology facility, which would house both a classroom and a lab. They set the bid opening for Jan. 12, 2010, at the Emmetsburg Campus. The project is being funded by ACE (Accelerated Career Education) money.