homepage logo

Incumbents And Newcomers Elected To Serve Cities

By Staff | Nov 5, 2009

A mix of newcomers and incumbents were elected to serve the cities of Palo Alto County in Tuesday’s General Election.

In Emmetsburg, two incumbents and one new member will serve on Emmetsburg City Council. Brian Campbell, incumbent council member at-large, ran unopposed. He earned 382 votes. There were also 15 write-in votes for this position.

Steve Finer, incumbent for Ward I, was re-elected. He defeated challenger Ted Ellis by 30 votes. Finer earned 127 votes; Ellis received 97 votes.

Incumbent Pam Smith was defeated in Ward III. Smith received 57 votes. Challenger Brian Malm was elected to serve on the council with 92 votes.

Ayrshire has a new mayor. Former councilman Kurt Moore is now the new mayor. He was elected with 36 votes. Pauline Miller, incumbent, and Jeff Moore were elected to serve on the Ayrshire Council. Miller received 21 votes and Moore received 24 votes. Jennifer Buettner was elected to serve an unexpired term. She received 23 votes, the best in a field of three.

Curlew elected a new mayor and five council representatives with write-in ballots. With only 12 votes cast, Wyman Travis was elected mayor with five votes. Council members are incumbent Barbara Barrett with 11 votes; John Barrett with 10 votes; Becky Travis with 8 votes; incumbent Stacy Lomax with 7 votes; and a tie for the fifth spot on the council with Robby Johnson and incumbent Rick Watts each receiving 6 votes. That position will be announced after the Board of Supervisors canvass the vote.

Cylinder elected incumbents for mayor and council. Art Mueller was re-elected mayor with 33 votes. Incumbents re-elected to serve are Kevin Long with 34 votes; Kurt Bonnstetter with 32 votes; Harry Bormann with 32 votes; Deb Weisbrod with 26 votes; and Dave Waldschmidt with 25 votes. Others who received votes were: Tim Kerr, two votes for mayor; Kari Anderson with one vote for mayor; Peg Lewis with 10 votes for council; Tilford Egland with two votes for council; and Dave Lewis with one vote for council.

Graettinger elected a group of incumbents Tuesday. Kevin M. Hanson was re-elected mayor with 39 votes. Incumbent councilmen re-elected include Ken Smith with 41 votes; Michael Flaherty with 40 votes; and Wayne W. Anderson with 36 votes.

Mallard has a new mayor. James Gehrt was elected to serve as Mallard Mayor with 51 votes. Elected to the Mallard council were incumbent Kyle Auten with 67 votes; incumbent Michael Hartman with 58 votes; and Karl Johnson with 29 votes.

Mallard voters approved a public measure to change Mallard Public Library Board to five members. The measure passed 53 yes and 7 no votes.

Rodman elected mayor and council by write-in votes. Incumbent mayor Georgia Elbert was re-elected with 8 votes. Also receiving votes for mayor were Sean Leners with 6 votes and Ruby Besch with one vote. Council members are Ronald Thilges, 14 votes; incumbent Rose Fokken, 12 votes; Danny E. Hutchison, 12 votes; Jean Hyslop, 9 votes; and Sean Leners, 5 votes. Eleven other people received write-in votes.

Ruthven Mayor Charles C. Oppedal was elected to serve another term. He earned 43 votes. Incumbent council member Jay Schoning was re-elected with 44 votes. There were 20 write-in votes cast and Mitch Anderson was elected to the council with 6 votes.

West Bend has a new mayor. Marilyn D. Schutz was elected with 67 votes. Incumbent councilman Bruce Helleseth was re-0elected with 72 votes and newcomer on the council is Jeff W. Miller with 62 votes.