homepage logo

Banquet Honors 4-H Youth And Leaders

By Staff | Nov 5, 2009

The accomplishments of Palo Alto County 4-H members in the past year, as well as recognition of their leaders and other volunteers were feted last Sunday evening at the 4-H Leaders Appreciation and Awards Banquet. Several special awards, along with various project awards were presented at the annual event, held at Iowa Lakes Community College in Emmetsburg.

Palo Alto County’s 4-H program was honored with a special award of recognition from the Iowa 4-H Foundation during the event. During the last year, Palo Alto County 4-H’ers raised $3.67 per 4-H member to support the pledge campaign of the state 4-H Foundation, the fourth highest average contribution in the state. Through the pledges, the Iowa 4-H Foundation is able to maintain funding for Capital Improvements to 4-H facilities, as well as helping with scholarship funding for 4-H’ers attending the National 4-H Convention every year, various state-level 4-H projects, financial aid for 4-H camp attendees and 4-H program grants.

To recognize their fundraising efforts, The Fern Valley 4-H, Graettinger Pirates, Highland Cruisers, Independence Boosters, Junior Clippers, Palo Alto Rockets and 4-H Shooting Sports clubs were all presented with certificates of merit as each of those clubs donated over $2.50 per member to the 4-H Foundation campaign in the past year. All told, Iowa 4-H members raised $33,686 for the state foundation.

Additionally, the Fern Valley 4’H’ers and the Palo Alto Shooting Sports 4-H Clubs were both recognized for gaining three new members each in the past year.

In the area of Community Service recognition, the Highland Cruisers 4-H Club received the top Community Service Award for the year, with the Graettinger Pirates 4-H Club receiving second place honors and the Fern Valley 4-H’ers receiving Honorable Mention honors for their Community Service works in the past year. Special awards were presented to the Highland Cruisers and the Palo Alto Rockets 4-H Clubs, as both clubs had 100 percent record book completion by members. Third place honors went to the Fern Valley 4-H’ers for having 80 percent completion of record books.

In the awards portion of the program, several special awards were presented along with various project awards. The Galen Smith Memorial Award, created last year to perpetuate the memory of the late Galen Smith of Curlew, honors a 4-H’er who has best exhibited the qualities of leadership and service in the traditions of 4-H. Named as the2009 Galen Smith Award recipient was Samantha Huberty.

The Ak-Sar-Ben Award was presented to Neal Norland, while the Danforth “I Dare You” awards were presented to Nathan Meyer and Logan Fischer. The R.W. Ashby Award to an outstanding 4-H’er was presented to Phillip Schmitt, with the Jeanette Anthe Award for an outstanding 4-H’er being presented to Dillon Thiner.

Communications Awards were presented to BriAna Campbell and Nick Grandstaff for their Educational Presentations.

In the continuation of an award that was started in 2003, three scholarships were awarded to Palo Alto County 4-H’ers in memory of Margaret Pratt, a former Palo Alto County Home Economist. Following her death, the family of Margaret Pratt established a trust fund to provide scholarships for 4-H Youths to attend State Leadership events. The recipients of the Margaret Pratt Scholarships for 2009 were Shawn Molitor, Amber Vonnahme and Logan Fischer.

Recipient of the Honorary Membership Award was Pat Molitor of Ruthven, in recognition of her many years of service as a leader and volunteer to Palo Alto County 4-H. The 4-H Alumni Awards were presented to Devona Perkins and Joel Thomsen for their service as 4-H club leaders, and also for their work with the Palo Alto County Fairboard.

Special Leadership recognition awards were presented to Patty Kelly and Mike Norland of the Palo Alto Rockets and Lisa Riesenberg of the Fern Valley 4-H’ers for five years of club leadership service. Roberta Hersom was honored for 10 years as a leader of the Junior Clippers, while Denise Flaherty was honored for 15 years as a leader of the Graettinger Pirates and Angie Beem received special recognition for 35 years service as a leader of the Junior Clippers 4-H Club.

Superior Award


Superior Project Awards were presented to 4-H’ers for their accomplishments with their projects in the past year. Phillip Schmitt was recognized for his photography project and his brother Jacob Schmitt was honored for his welding project.

Special Award


Several special recognition awards were made in the areas of merit, achievement, leadership, agriculture and citizenship. Merit Awards were presented to Jack Riesenberg, Callie Gerber, Carissa Sundall, Miranda McGrauth, Alesha Sikora, Haley Banwart, Jacob Schmitt, Kendra Feldman, Dylan Fischer, Sean Riesenberg and Ashley Brown.

Citizenship awards were presented to Shawn Molitor, Justin Kibbie, Logan Fischer, Dillon Thiner, Phillip Schmitt, Josh Kibbie and Michael Sundall, while Achievement Awards were presented to Ryan Sikora, Samantha Huberty, Josh Kibbie and Michael Sundall, while Leadership Awards were presented to Nathan Meyer, Ryan Sikora, Dillon Thiner, Phillip Schmitt and Samantha Huberty.

Project Award


Awards were presented to junior 4-H’ers for their projects during the past years. Home Improvement awards were presented to Laura Moser. Chelsea Strohman, Dalton Knobloch, Emily Risenberg and Laura Fehr, while Tayla Banwart and Kelli Klepper received Food and Nutrition awards. Megan Brown, Robert Nelson and Caroline Fantz received Clothing awards, while Jack Banwart and Trevor Fehr were honored with Photography awards. Dylan Moser, Jeff Riesenberg and Greg Wesley earnd Poultry awards, while Jack Fehr and Rachel Hoffman received Bucket/Bottle Calf awards. Kyle Kassel earned a Conservation award, while Laura Moser and Chelsea Strohman both earned 4-H Historical/Family Heritage award recognition.

Beef awards were presented to Zach Anderson, Jack Banwart, Eric Sundall and Brent Wesley, while Dylan Moser received a Rabbit award. Nick Grandstaff and Kaitlyn Fogarty received Communications awards and Rachel Hoffman received an award for her Horse project. Swine awards were presented to Trevor Fehr, Corbin Studer and Emily Bonnstetter, while Laura Fehr earned award recognition in the Ag and Natural Resources area. Sophia Moran and Kyle Kassel received awards in Personal Development, while Ashton Tonderum earned a Consumer and Management Award.

Jared Sikora, Charlie Fehr and Robert Nelson received Visual Art awards, while Corbin Studer earned a Horticulture award. Alex Hoffman and Brent Wesley received Woodworking awards, while Megan Brown earned a Sheep award. Sophia Moran received an award for her Health project and Kiersten Aldous and Emily Bonnstetter were recognized for their Dog projects.

Intermediate and Senior award winners Emily Bormann for Child Development, Ryan Sikora for Science, Mechanics and Engineering and Josie Wickman was honored for her Photography project. Samatha Huberty was honored for her Rabbit and Horse projects, while Joel Kibbie and Justin Kibbie were honored for their Beef projects.

Kendall Deitering , Taylor Reimer and Josie Wickman were honored for their Clothing projects, while Haley Banwart and Calla Knobloch received recognition for their Home Improvement projects. Michael Sundall, Jacob Sundall and Phillip Schmitt were honored for their Woodworking projects.