homepage logo

Vote Today

By Staff | Nov 3, 2009

Eligible voters in Tuesday’s Municipal elections are being reminded of the hours for voting, as well as the polling place locations in their respective communities.

Polls for the Nov. 3 Municipal elections will be over from 12 noon to 8 p.m. in the following communities in Palo Alto County, and at the following polling places:

Ayrshire – Ayrshire City Hall

There is a pair of contested elections in Ayrshire. Three people are running to fill an unexpired term on the Ayrshire council. Brian Kathman, Jennifer Buettner and Anesa Baily are on the ballot.

Two council seats are also up for election. Incumbent Pauline Miller is running for re-election, with challengers Michael Garrelts, Gerri Jensen and Jeff Moore. Incumbent councilman Kurt Moore has filed nomination papers for the Mayor’s position.

Curlew – Curlew Community Center

The mayor and five council positions in Curlew will be filled by write-in.

Cylinder – Cylinder Post Office

Incumbent Cylinder mayor Art Mueller is running unopposed for re-election. Six candidates are vying for five seats on the council: Kurt Bonnstetter, Harry Bormann, Kevin Long, Deb Weisbrod and Dave Waldschmidt are incumbents with challenger Peg Lewis.

Graettinger – Graettinger Public Library

Three incumbent council representatives and the mayor are unopposed for re-election. Mayor Kevin Hanson is seeking another term, along with council members Wayne W. Anderson, Michael Flaherty and Ken Smith.

Mallard – Mallard Community Center

One of the council seats will be filled by write-in at Mallard. Incumbents Kyle Auten and Michael Harman are seeking re-election. James Gehrt has filed for the mayor’s position.

Mallard residents will be asked to vote on a Public Measure, which would change the current Mallard Public Library Board to five members.

Rodman – Rodman Town Hall

In Rodman, incumbent mayor Georgia Elbert is not running for re-election and no nomination papers were filed. The position will be filled by write-in. Four of the five candidates for council are incumbents, including Rose Fokken, Danny Hutchison, Jean Hyslop and Ronald Thilges. One other council member will be elected by write-in.

Ruthven – Ruthven Social Center

In Ruthven, a write-in candidate will win election to the council. Jay Schoning filed papers for re-election, along with incumbent Mayor Charles C. Oppedal. Incumbent Brian Hawk is not seeking re-election.

West Bend – West Bend Public Library

West Bend voters will elect a new mayor. Marilyn Schutz filed papers to run for mayor; incumbent mayor Robert Klepper is not seeking re-election. Incumbent councilman Brice Helleseth is seeking re-election. Incumbent Joe Eoriatti is not seeking re-election, but Jeff Miller filed nomination papers to fill that seat.

Emmetsburg Election

In the City of Emmetsburg, all polling places for Wards I, II, III and IV, will be located at the Palo Alto County Election Center, 1302 Broadway, in Emmetsburg. In Emmetsburg only, the polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 3.

Emmetsburg Ward I incumbent Steve Finer is being challenged by Ted Ellis.

Emmetsburg Ward III incumbent Pam Smith is being challenged by Brian Malm.

Incumbent Councilman At-Large Brian Campbell is running unopposed.

For more information on the Municipal elections, contact the Palo Alto County Auditor’s Office at 712-852-2924.