homepage logo

Iowa Lakes Trustees Reorganize

By Staff | Oct 22, 2009

ADMINISTERING THE OATH - The Iowa Lakes Community College Board of Trustees held their organizational meeting for the 2009-2010 college year Tuesday, Oct. 20. Board Secretary Clark Marshall, left, administers the oath of office to incumbent board member Pat Kibbie of Emmetsburg, second from left, along with newly elected board members Bob Jennings of Algona, second from right, and Mike Prior of Spirit Lake, right.–submitted photo

A reorganizational session saw three board members take the oath of office to serve the Board of Trustees of Iowa Lakes Community College Tuesday, Oct 20. The retiring college board officially accepted the transcript of election results prior to adjournment at the college’s Administrative Offices in Estherville.

The newly elected board was called to order to re-organize by Board Secretary Clark Marshall, who administered the oath of office to incumbent board member Pat Kibbie of Emmetsburg, and two new board members, Bob Jennings of Algona and Mike Prior of Spirit Lake.

Jan Lund was elected as the President of the Iowa Lakes Trustees and Jim Miller was elected to the position of Vice President. In addition, Clark Marshall was appointed to serve as secretary, and, Bob L’Heureux was named treasurer. Scot Bauermeister was selected as legal counsel for the Trustees.

Along with other annual routine business, the Trustees reviewed two board policies – one which updates the language to reflect the new state election schedule and another which reinforces the board’s ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act) procedures for Trustee meetings. Both policies were approved on their final reading. 

A number of resident assistants in the housing department as well as student senators from all five of the college’s campuses spoke with the Trustees about their responsibilities. They also shared activities planned at their respective campuses and informed the trustees that student senators, resident assistants and graduate assistants will participate in a daylong team building and leadership training session at Camp Foster later this month. Additionally, in January, a contingent of student senators will travel to Des Moines to meet with legislators about issues that impact their education. 

In other business, the trustees gave an endorsement to Delaine Hiney, executive director of facilities management, to pursue possible additional housing for the Estherville campus. Hiney was also was asked to revise specifications for a potential Construction Tech building being planned for the Emmetsburg campus. 

After receiving a recommendation to change life and disability insurance providers, the Trustees voted to switch to Secure Benefits effective Dec. 1, 2009, to provide the same benefits to employees. Service will be provided through a local agent and the college will save about $14,000 per year.  

A decision on selling the college’s Renewable Energy Credits was tabled by the board.

A special report was given from the Board Awards Committee by Trustee Lund. The committee recommended that the college name a facility after Jack Tatman for his 42 years of leadership on the Iowa Lakes Community College Board of Trustees. The building at the Spirit Lake campus was selected to honor the founding member of the Trustees.

In other business, the Trustees heard routine reports from members serving on statewide and regional boards and subsequently adjourned into closed session for a potential purchase of real estate. The Trustees resumed their open session and adjourned. The next meeting is Nov. 17 in Estherville.