homepage logo

Public Measures Gain Approval, Board Members Elected To Area School Boards

By Staff | Sep 10, 2009

With no contested elections in any of the four school districts in Palo Alto County, there was very little drama to Tuesday’s School Board Elections. Public measure questions in each of the four districts gained approval, along with a special question in one district. Results of the school board elections are unofficial until a canvass by the Palo Alto County Board of Supervisors, which will take place during a special session on Friday, Sept. 11, at 8 a.m. in the boardroom of the Palo Alto County Courthouse.

In the Emmetsburg Community School District, Incumbent board President Karla Anderson won re-election to her seat on the board, receiving 132 votes. The seats held by Dave VanOosbree and Kent Egland, who did not run for re-election, were won by newcomers Tamara L. Naig, who received 153 votes, and Kimberly Campbell, who received 118 votes.

For patrons of the Graettinger Community School District, Incumbent board member Kevin Jensen won re-election to another term on the school board, as he received 97 votes. The seat of retiring board member Bill Brown, Jr., was won by Wade Alesch, who received 99 votes to be elected to a term of service on the Graettinger board.

In the Ruthven-Ayrshire Community School District, Incumbent board members Susan Sikora and Barry Fischer both earned re-election to their posts on the board. Sikora received 52 votes, while Fischer received 56 votes. Tammy Chapman, who received 54 votes in the election, won the third seat on the Ruthven-Ayrshire Board. Chapman fills the seat currently held by Daniel Geelan, who chose not to run for re-election.

For patrons of the West Bend-Mallard Community School, Incumbent board members Doug Schwartzkopf and Pat Vonnahme were re-elected to their seats, with Schwartzkopf earning 122 votes, while Vonnahme received 129 votes. With board member Vera Banwart choosing not to run for another term, Wendell Schmidt was elected to fill the vacancy on the West Bend-Mallard Community School Board., as he received 130 votes.

Additionally, all persons who were elected to school board seats Tuesday will serve terms of four years, and all future school board elections will take place in odd-numbered years, with those electees also serving four-year terms.

Voters in the Emmetsburg, Ruthven-Ayrshire and West Bend-Mallard Community School Districts who live in director District VI of the Iowa Lakes Community College service area re-elected Pat Kibbie of Emmetsburg to his seat on the college’s Board of Trustees. Kibbie, who ran unopposed for re-election to his seat on the board, received 268 votes and was the lone incumbent on the Iowa Lakes Board to be re-elected. Two other incumbent board members, Lynn Kueck of Algona and Board President Jack Tatman of Superior, were both defeated by challengers Bob Jennings of Algona and Mike Prior of Spirit Lake.

Special Questions

Voters in the Emmetsburg District agreed to the continuation of a Physical Plant and Equipment Levy (PPEL) of 67 cents per $1,000 valuation during Tuesday’s election. The PPEL levy is used for building improvements and equipment in the district.

Patrons of the Graettinger Community School District were asked to approve a special Revenue Purpose Statement during Tuesday’s election and passed the question with 78 yes votes as opposed to 16 no votes. Graettinger district patrons also approved the continuation of their Physical Plant and Equipment Levy in the amount of $1 per thousand of valuation. The PPEL question received 80 votes yes and 22 votes no.

Ruthven-Ayrshire patrons will also be asked to cast a ballot on a public measure for the continuation of a Physical Plant and Equipment Levy in the amount of 67 cents.

Residents in the Ruthven-Ayrshire Community School District agreed to continue their Physical Plant and Equipment Levy in the amount of 67 cents per thousand of valuation as well in Tuesday’s balloting.

Voters in West Bend-Mallard school district also approved a public measure question for the continuation of a Physical Plant and Equipment Levy in the amount of $1.34 cents per thousand of valuation.