homepage logo

Seventeen To Receive Diplomas At Ruthven-Ayrshire

By Staff | May 14, 2009

“We are not responsible for the past, but we must be accountable for the future.”

RUTHVEN – With the preceding as their class motto, the Ruthven-Ayrshire High School Class of 2009 will participate in commencement exercises on Sunday, May 17. The ceremony begins at 2 p.m. in the school gymnasium in Ruthven.

Class officers include President Shawn Molitor, Vice President Alexandra Blackburn, Secretary Bradley Geelan, and Treasurer Alyssa Groshens. Class sponsors are Mr. Jon Josephson and Mrs. Connie Larson. The seniors have chosen royal blue and silver as their class colors, and the orchid as their class flower.

Seventeen members of the senior class will accept their diplomas on Sunday. Ushers Ryan Sikora and Jessica Larson will escort the seniors to their seats to the traditional processional “Pomp and Circumstance.”

Superintendent Ervin Rowlands will provide the welcome, and the High School Concert Choir will perform a musical selection. Jessica Schable will serve as pianist.

Kayla Sledd and Carrie Kathman will present Senior Plans, while Mrs. Larson, school counselor, will preside over the awarding of honors. The Palo Alto County Bar Association will present the Iowa Bar Association Award.

Amanda Long and Cody Zielstra will dedicate the annual, and the Valedictorian address will be given by Bradley Geelan and Shawn Molitor. Principal Milton Peters will then present the Senior Class, and School Board President Susan Sikora will award diplomas to the graduates. Shawn Molitor and Ale Blackburn will preside over the rose ceremony.