homepage logo

Emmetsburg High School Class Of 2009 Commencement This Sunday

By Staff | May 14, 2009

EHS CLASS OF 2009 – Members of the senior class at Emmetsburg High School will participate in commencement exercises, which begin at 2 p.m. on Sunday, May 17, in the high school gymnasium. Sixty-one graduates will receive diplomas. Pictured (from left) are Anthony Smith, Lindsay Haack, Jackie Barnes, and JC Rezabek. – Lori Hall photo

Sixty-one members of the Emmetsburg High School Class of 2009 will participate in commencement exercises this Sunday, May 17. The ceremony begins at 2 p.m. in the high school gymnasium. The graduates will accept their high school diplomas before a gym full of family and friends.

The classmates have chosen the class motto of “The memories we’ve shared, the times we’ve had together, they will stay with us always–goodbye is not forever.” Their class colors are black and gold, and class flower is the hibiscus.

Senior Class President is Katelyn Schany, Josh Hill is Class Vice President, Class Secretary is Elizabeth Pico, and Taylor Morris is Class Treasurer. Senior Student Council members include: Hannah Reichert, Lucas Ezarski, Shelby Gappa, Patrick Kelly, and Amy Walsh.

The Emmetsburg High School Concert Band, under the direction of Aaron Phillips, band director, will play a pre-commencement concert and the “Star Spangled Banner.” Phillips will then conduct the Emmetsburg High School Commencement Band in the traditional processional, “Pomp and Circumstance,” arranged by James Ployhar.

Members of the Senior Class will be escorted to their seats by Katie Malm and Kourtney Clasing, Junior Class Marshals. Katelyn Schany, Class President, will serve as Mistress of Ceremonies.

David Fog, vocal music director, will lead the Emmetsburg High School Concert Choir in their vocal selections, “Iddem-dem Malida” by Makil and “He Ain’t Heavy, He’s My Brother” by Buckholz.

Principal Jay Jurrens will then present the Emmetsburg High School Class of 2009. Jurrens will be assisted in the awarding of diplomas by Board of Education President Karla Anderson, Board of Education member Kent Egland, and Superintendent John Joynt.