homepage logo

Graettinger-Terril To Graduate 33 Sunday

By Staff | May 12, 2009

GRAETTINGER – Thirty-three members of the Graettinger-Terril High School Class of 2009 will participate in commencement exercises on Sunday, May 17. The ceremony begins at 1 p.m. in the Graettinger school gymnasium.

Baccalaureate exercises will be held Wednesday, May 13, at 7 p.m. at Bethel Lutheran Church in Graettinger. The public is invited to attend. An awards night for the senior class will be held immediately following baccalaureate exercises in the fellowship room at the church.

The classmates have chosen the class motto of: “We did it the right way, Looking back on the good times, We cherish the many memories.” Their class colors are orange and white, and their class flower is a white rose dipped in orange with silver sparkles.

Mrs. Garnet Voigt will play the processional as the senior class enters the gymnasium. Commencement ushers include Tasha Neilson, Lizzie Niemann, Brandon Laidig, and Joe Moore. Honorary junior ushers are Dakota Hovinga and Cody Dyhrkopp.

The welcome will be provided by Malorie Girres.

The Concert Choir, under the direction of Mrs. Anne Sexe will sing “Flying Free.” Jacob Hoffman and Kass Schany will present “Graettinger Memories” while Leah Flaharty and Keisha Meyer will present “Terril Memories.” A senior slide show, developed by Malorie Schaller and Megan McGrauth, will be shown.

Megan McGrauth will provide the Valedictorian address. High School Principal Chris Richards will then present the graduating class. Superintendent Dan Mart, Graettinger School Board President William Brown, and Terril School Board President Larry Flaharty will present diplomas to the graduates.

Alexandra Rehm and Kyle Brown will present the class picture, and James Tatman will provide closing comments.