homepage logo

Kibbie Re-elected President Of Iowa Senate

By Staff | Nov 18, 2008

DES MOINES — Iowa Senator Jack Kibbie of Emmetsburg was re-elected to serve as Senate president. He will serve another two-year term in that position.

Democrats in the Iowa Senate met in Des Moines Sunday, Nov. 16, and re-elected their top leaders to their posts.

Mike Gronstal of Council Bluffs will remain Senate majority leader; Tom Courtney of Burlington was re-elected Democratic whip; Jeff Danielson of Waterloo remains as Senate president pro-tempore. Assistant majority leaders elected Sunday were Bill Dotzler of Waterloo, Amanda Ragan of Mason City, Bill Heckroth of Waverly, Staci Appel of Ackworth, Joe Bolkcom of Iowa City and Jack Hatch of Des Moines.

The 32 Democratic members of the Iowa Senate gathered at the Iowa Statehouse. While choosing their leaders, the group agreed to focus on reponsible budgeting and keeping commitments made on education, jobs and health care.