homepage logo

Cheer Squad Earns State Title

By Staff | Nov 18, 2008

While the Emmetsburg area is abuzz about this weekend’s championship football game, there’s another championship that came home to Emmetsburg at the beginning of the month.

On Nov. 1, four members of the Emmetsburg High School Cheerleading squad and their coach traveled to Des Moines to compete in the 2008 Iowa High School State Cheerleading Championships. The competition was held on the floor of Veterans Memorial Auditorium.

The quartet of Shelby Gappa, Amy Wood, Mariah Andreasen and Emily Lowman competed in the Non-Stunt Mount category during the event, which featured 90 schools of all sizes from across the state competing in various categories before a panel of judges.

A total of eight teams competed in the Non-stunt mount competition, with the E’Hawk Cheerleaders taking the top honors.

The Emmetsburg cheerleaders are coached by Alyssa Meyers.