homepage logo

School Board Seats Filled

By Staff | Sep 12, 2008

A mere 573 patrons throughout Palo Alto County cast their ballots in Tuesday’s school board elections. Of 7,308 registered voters in the county, that’s just 7.84 percent who turned out to vote–either at voting sites or by absentee ballot.

In the Emmetsburg Community School District, the seats of Scott Dettmann and Kent Egland expired. Dettmann chose not to run for re-election to a three-year term, and Kent Egland ran unopposed for re-election to a one-year term. Egland received 84 votes, while newcomer Laure Oppenheimer received 87 votes to fill the three-year term on the board.

Incumbent board members of the Graettinger-Terril Community School District, Duane Hoffman and Roger Schmidt, run unopposed for re-election to three-year terms. Hoffman earned 42 votes, and Schmidt received 40 votes.

In the Ruthven-Ayrshire Community School District, incumbent board member Dave Forey was up for re-election to a three-year term. Forey garnered 34 votes. Matthew Graves ran unopposed to fill the three-year term of Jill Williamson, who chose not to run for re-election. Graves received 31 votes.

The only contested race in the county, in the West Bend-Mallard Community School District, featured three contenders competing for two seats on the school board after Board President Pat Madsen chose not to file for re-election to his seat. Incumbent Charles Wirtz lost his bid for re-election to a three-year term, receiving just 219 votes. Challengers Lannie Miller, with 280 votes, and Dawn Schmidt, with 256 votes, will fill three-year terms on the school board.

Also, voters residing in Director District VI of Iowa Lakes Community College voted to fill the unexpired term of John Hand of Emmetsburg, a former trustee of the college. Patrick Kibbie of Emmetsburg, who was appointed to fill Hand’s unexpired term through the September elections, received 370 votes to fill the remainder of Hand’s term, which ends in 2009.