homepage logo

Emmetsburg High School Class of 2008 Commencement This Sunday

By Staff | May 15, 2008

EHS CLASS OF 2008 – Members of the senior class at Emmetsburg High School will participate in commencement exercises, which begin at 2 p.m. on Sunday, May 18, in the high school gymnasium. Sixty-three graduates will receive diplomas. Pictured (from left) are Amy Norland, Ashley Opheim, Will Roeber, and Jordan Mathisen. – Lori Martinez photo

Sixty-three members of the Emmetsburg High School Class of 2008 will participate in commencement exercises this Sunday, May 18. The ceremony begins at 2 p.m. in the high school gymnasium. The graduates will accept their high school diplomas–finalizing 13 years of education–before a gym full of family and friends.

The classmates have chosen the class motto of “If you think it can’t be done, watch us do it.” Their class colors are black and gold, and class flower is the stargazer lily.

Senior Class President is Marc Siemers, Jake Vaughan is Class Vice President, Class Secretary is Kylie Carter, and Kyle Janssen is Class Treasurer. Senior Student Council members include: Jerri Sadler, Trevor Harson, Amy Norland, Melissa Schrader, and Scott Smith.

The Emmetsburg High School Commencement Band, under the direction of Kristin Heldt, band director, will play a pre-commencement concert and the “Star Spangled Banner.” Heldt will then conduct the Emmetsburg High School Commencement Band in the traditional processional, “Pomp and Circumstance,” arranged by James Ployhar.

Members of the Senior Class will be escorted to their seats by Katelyn Schany and Liz Pico, Junior Class Marshals.

David Fog, vocal music director, will lead the Emmetsburg High School Concert Choir in their vocal selections, “Salmo 150” and “Go The Distance.”

Marc Siemers, Class President, will serve as Master of Ceremonies, and Valedictorians Victoria Heldt and Scott Smith will provide the Commencement address.

Principal Jay Jurrens will then present the Emmetsburg High School Class of 2008. Jurrens will be assisted in the awarding of diplomas by Board of Education President Karla Anderson, Board of Education Vice President David VanOosbree, and Superintendent John Joynt.