homepage logo

Twenty-Six To Receive Diplomas At Ruthven-Ayrshire

By Staff | May 13, 2008

“He who is not courageous enough to take risks will accomplish nothing in life.”

— Muhammad Ali

RUTHVEN – With the preceding as their class motto, the Ruthven-Ayrshire High School Class of 2008 will participate in commencement exercises on Sunday, May 18. The ceremony begins at 2 p.m. in the school gymnasium in Ruthven.

Class officers include President Alyssa Hawley, Vice President Andrew Rowlands, Secretary Chelsey Reed, and Treasurer Sarah Henningsen. Class sponsors are Mr. Jon Josephson and Mrs. Connie Larson. The seniors have chosen royal blue and white as their class colors, and the Asiatic lily as their class flower.

Twenty-six members of the senior class will accept their diplomas on Sunday. Ushers include Shawn Molitor and Alexandra Blackburn.

Superintendent Ervin Rowlands will provide the welcome, and the Mixed Chorus will perform a musical selection.

Shea Henningsen and Melissa Meyer will present Senior Plans, while Mrs. Larson, school counselor, will preside over the awarding of honors. The Palo Alto County Bar Association will present the Iowa Bar Association Award.

Alyssa Hawley and Chelsea Zaragoza will dedicate the annual, and the Salutatorian address and Valedictorian address will be given. Principal Milton Peters will then present the Senior Class, and School Board President Susan Sikora will award diplomas to the graduates. Bryce Williamson and Chelsey Reed will preside over the rose ceremony.