homepage logo

Graettinger-Terril To Graduate 25

By Staff | May 13, 2008

GRAETTINGER – Twenty-five members of the Graettinger-Terril High School Class of 2008 will participate in commencement exercises on Sunday, May 18. The ceremony begins at 1 p.m. in the Graettinger school gymnasium.

Baccalaureate exercises will be held Wednesday, May 14, at 7 p.m. at the United Methodist Church in Graettinger. The public is invited to attend. An awards night for the senior class will be held immediately following baccalaureate exercises in the fellowship room at the Methodist Church.

The classmates have chosen the class motto of “Life brings us tears, smiles, and memories. Tears dry, smiles fade, but the memories remain.” Their class colors are teal and black, and their class flower is a white rose dipped in teal with sparkles.

Mrs. Garnet Voigt will play the processional as the senior class enters the gymnasium. Commencement ushers include Alexandra Rehm, Theresa Petersen, Kyle Brown, and James Tatman. Honorary junior ushers are Megan McGrauth and Jacob Hoffman.

The welcome will be provided by Amanda Kropf, and Superintendent Dan Mart will recognize Mrs. Marge Tindall, language arts teacher at the middle school in Terril, on her retirement.

The Concert Choir, under the direction of Mrs. Anne Sexe will sing “Like An Eagle.” Jade Alesch and Courtney Dobbins will present “Graettinger Memories” while Brittany Laidig and Dalton Perrin will present “Terril Memories.” A senior slide show will be shown.

Jennie Mart will provide the Valedictorian address, and Allison Peyton will give the Senior Class address. Principal Jared Cecil will then preside over awards and the presentation of the graduating class. Superintendent Mart, Graettinger School Board President William Brown, and Terril School Board President Larry Flaharty will present diplomas to the graduates.

Marshall Whitney and Joel McGrauth will present the class picture, and Jeremy Moyer will provide closing comments.