homepage logo

Primary Election To Feature Contests

By Staff | Apr 1, 2008

There will be one contested primary election on the local slate for the June 3 primary elections. However, there will be a contested election for United State Representative and United States Senator that local voters will have a say in. The deadline for filing nomination papers for local primary elections passed at 5 p.m. this past Wednesday, March 26.

The lone contested election at the local county level will be for the Board of Supervisors District Three seat, which is currently held by Leo Goeders of Emmetsburg. Goeders, who is serving as the Chair of the Board this year, is running for re-election on the Democratic ticket. However, Frank Kliegl of Emmetsburg, who is also running for the Democratic nomination, is opposing him in the primary.

Incumbent Supervisor Ron Graettinger is running unopposed for re-election to his seat representing District Four. In addition, County Sheriff Dennis Goeders and County Auditor Gary Leonard are both running unopposed for their offices.

The other contested primary races come for United States Senate, where three Republicans will vye for the nomination to run against Democratic Senator Tom Harkin. Running for the Republican nod are George S. Eichhorn, Steve Rathje and Christopher Reed.

A quartet of Democratic candidates will square off for the nomination in the U.S. House of Representatives – Fourth District. Becky Greenwald, Kurt Meyer, William J. Meyers and Kevin Miskell all hope to win the right to meet incumbent Republican Representative Tom Latham in the General Election.

State Senator John P. (Jack) Kibbie is running unopposed for re-election to the Iowa State Senate, representing the Fourth District. State Representative Marcella R. Frevert will face a challenge in the General Election as she will be opposed by Republican candidate Debra Satern.

The Primary election is slated for Tuesday, June 3.