homepage logo

Primary Filing Deadline Nearing

By Staff | Mar 20, 2008

Time is rapidly running out for persons interested in running for county offices to acquire signatures on nomination papers for the June 3 primary elections. Candidates for any county office wanting the nomination of one of the major political parties need to file nomination papers for those positions by 5 p.m. Wednesday, March 26.

In Palo Alto County, two seats on the County Board of Supervisors will be up for election, along with the offices of County Auditor and County Sheriff.

In Supervisor District Three, Democrat Leo Goeders of Emmetsburg, the current chair of the Supervisors, is running for re-election to his seat and in District Four, incumbent supervisor Ron Graettinger of Graettinger, a Republican, is also seeking re-election to his post. Supervisors’ terms are four years in length.

Palo Alto County Sheriff Dennis Goeders, a Democrat from Emmetsburg, is seeking re-election to a second term as sheriff, while Palo Alto County Auditor Gary Leonard, a Republican from Emmetsburg, is also seeking re-election to his office. Both terms are four years in length.10

To be a candidate for county office other than sheriff, an individual must be at least 18 years of age and a citizen of the United States. They must have their voting rights intact and must be a resident of Palo Alto County. To run for the office of sheriff, a candidate must be 21 years of age or older, have no felony convictions and must be a certified peace officer, or complete the basic peace officer’s training course of the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy.

In addition to the local races, voters in Palo Alto County will be voting for the offices of State Senator, District Four, the seat currently held by Emmetsburg Democrat John (Jack) Kibbie and State Representative, District Seven, currently held by Marcie Frevert, a Democrat from Emmetsburg. Kibbie is running for another four-year term in the Senate, while Frevert is running for another two-year term in the House.

Additionally, Palo Alto County voters will also cast votes for the offices of United States Senator, currently held by Democrat Tom Harkin and Republican Charles Grassley. Those terms are for six years. Also appearing on the ballot will be the Fourth Congressional District seat in the United States House of Representatives, currently held by Congressman Tom Latham. That term is for two years.