homepage logo

Iowa Lakes Announces Recipients Of Clyde And Grace Sanborn Scholarships

By Staff | Apr 5, 2018

ESTHERVILLE – A pair of Palo Alto county residents are among six students being awarded scholarships from Iowa Lakes Community College.

Graettinger residents Ethan Boughey and Joshua Petrich were named as recipients of Clyde and Grace Sanborn Scholarships recently by Iowa Lakes officials.

Clyde and Grace Sanborn former area business owners in the Estherville area, had a great interest in young people’s education. In 1975, the couple established a scholarship fund with Iowa Lakes Community College. Over the ensuing years, their scholarship fund has grown to award several scholarships to Iowa Lakes Community College students.

Requirements for the Clyde and Grace Sanborn Scholarships include full-time Estherville campus enrollment; and a requirement that the student have attended Estherville Lincoln Central, Graettinger-Terril, North Union or Martin County West Schools and successfully;;u graduated; the student must earn a minimum cumulative 2.0 Grade Point Average and display financial need determined by FAFSA results. The award must be used for tuition, books or fees.

Along with Boughey and Petrich, other recipients of the scholarship included Rachel Lamber, Travis Meyer and Robert Sheridan of Estherville, and Logan Weber of Welcome, MN.

To establish a scholarship, contact the Iowa Lakes Community College Institutional Advancement/ Foundations Office at 712-362-0491 or 800-242-5106 ext. 4491. To apply for scholarships, visit www.iowalakes.edu.