homepage logo

Mary J. Kahler Memorial Scholarship Awarded

By Staff | Dec 27, 2017

Arthur Kahler, of Bancroft, established the Mary J. Kahler Memorial Scholarship at Iowa Lakes Community College in 2006. Prior to her death, Mary loved to travel, raise flowers, garden and entertain her nieces, nephews and other family at the farm she started with Art. Mary worked as a nurse for over 43 years and was instrumental in starting the nursing program at Iowa Lakes. Recipients must be full-time nursing program students with a permanent residency in Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Kossuth or Palo Alto counties and meet minimum academic standards. Awards are $1,000 per recipient.

The 2017-18 recipients are Katie Kladstrup of Spencer and Philkeith Sagini of Emmetsburg.