homepage logo

County Committee Elects Officers

By Staff | Feb 2, 2017

by Lisa Forburger, CED

The Palo Alto County Committee (COC) had their organizational meeting on Jan. 19 and elected Diane Nelson, Chairperson, Glen Smith, Vice Chair and Jordan Mathisen as Member.

The committee has set monthly meetings for the fourth Thursday of each month beginning at 8 a.m. to be held in the Palo Alto County Service Center. The public is welcome to attend the meetings. The monthly meeting may be cancelled, so please check with this office prior to the meeting.

The Local Administrative Area (LAA) boundaries were also reviewed and it was determined to keep the areas as assigned.

LAA-1 include townships of Nevada, Fern Valley, Booth, Rush Lake, Ellington and West Bend and are represented by Glen Smith.

LAA-2 includes townships Emmetsburg, Freedom, Fairfield, Silver Lake, and Great Oak and are represented by Jordan Mathisen.

LAA-3 include townships of Lost Island, Walnut, Vernon, Independence and Highland Townships and are represented by Diane Nelson.

This year the COC election will be held for voters in LAA-1. More information will be available on the election this summer.

County Committee members are a valuable asset because they are comprised of local producers who participate in FSA Programs themselves and have a direct connection to farmers in the community.

If you have any questions, please call the Palo Alto County Service Center, at 712-852-3386.