homepage logo

Emmetsburg FFA Members Conclude Successful Year At State Convention

By Staff | Jun 9, 2016

STATE CONFERENCE ATTENDEES: These members of the Emmetsburg FFA attended the 2016 Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference. In front from left to right are Katie Hoffman, Jenna Chapman and Nick Schany. Middle row from left to right are Kenzie Upton, Dylan Kibbie, Michelle Moen, Bailee Garrelts, Nick Krieg, Alexis Louwagie, Olivia Hampe, Betty Strohman, Grant Deitering and Wade Travis. Back row, from left to right are Will Schany, Jade Schleisman, Brent Wesley, Nick Grandstaff, Austin Bergstrom, Zach Mason and Ty Harson. – submitted photo.

AMES – Emmetsburg High School FFA?members were rewarded for their accomplishments during the year at the 2016 Iowa FFA?State Leadership Conference, held Apirl 18-19. A total of 20 FFA members attended the conference, which was held at Hilton Coliseum on the Iowa State University campus in Ames.

During the Stae Leadership Conference, local FFA members participated in several events, including Voting Delegates, Greenhand Test, Team Ag Sales, Farm Business Management Test, Poultry Evaluation and Massing of the Flags. Additionally, ten Emmetsburg students received their Iowa FFA Degrees.

Emmetsburg FFA’s Ag Sales team, consisting of Jade Schleisman, Will Schany, Grant Deitering and

Brent Wesley competed at the State FFA Convention. The students worked together to attempt to sell their

product to varying customers, work as a team to deliver information to a panel of experts and prepare a presentation identifying potential customers. The team placed 18th of 56 teams competing, receiving a silver rating for their work.

Wade Travis, Austin Bergstrom, Dylan Kibbie and Zach Mason participated in the Poultry Evaluation event, which tests members on their knowledge of the poultry industry, identifying poultry parts, candling and grading the exterior and interior of eggs and placing classes of live birds. Members placed 13th of 67 teams, earning a gold placing.

Katie Hoffman, Jenna Chapman, Nick Grandstaff and Ty Harson competed in the farm business test.

This event tested members on their ability to analyze agriculture, farm, and ranch business management information, apply economic principles and concepts of farm business management to the decision-making process and evaluate agriculture business, and farm business management decisions. Members placed in the top ten in the state, earning the number nine spot, out of 85 teams competing. Members earned a gold award for their hard work.

Nick Schany and Alexis Louwagie took the Greenhand Test, which is a 100-point test that is compiled of questions about the history of FFA, knowledge of the program, and basics of FFA. Each received a silver.

Betty Strohman and Nick Krieg represented Emmetsburg FFA at the voting delegate session. As a voting delegate, they listened to members who wanted to become state officers and voted them to offices.

Bailee Garrelts participated in the Massing of the Flags Ceremony held during the Second General Session where she represented Emmetsburg FFA holding the chapter flag.

Ten students received their Iowa FFA Degree, including: Grant Deitering, Brent Wesley, Jade Schleisman, Will Schany, Katie Hoffman, Ty Harson, Nick Grandstaff, Kenzie Upton, Olivia Hampe, and Michelle Moen.

The Iowa Degree is the highest honor received in the state level. These members were required to have a Supervised Agricultural Experience, have performed at least 25 hours of community service, have participated in at least five activities above the chapter level, served as a chair of a committee or held a chapter office, have met the financial qualifications and be in good academic standing.

Record attendance was set at this year’s Convention, with more than 5,500 members and guests registered, from over 215 chapters across Iowa.

The Emmetsburg FFA?advisor is Mr. Steve Eskildsen.