Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Contact Us | Home RSS

E-Hawks Dominate at Sectionals

“Scary” Good Sectional Meet for E-Hawks

February 6, 2019
By Josh J. Zigrang , Emmetsburg News

by Josh Zigrang

Thirteen through to Districts. That's a big number. According to the rules, the 1st and 2nd place wrestlers in the Sectionals meet will compete on February 5th.

First, here is your list of Sectional winners that will be making that aforementioned trip: Nic Lowe (2nd place finisher), Sean Brennan (1st place finisher), Kelly Griffin (2nd place finisher), Levi Aldous (1st place), Ethan Berven (1st place), Colton Anderson (1st place), Spencer Griffin (1st place), Bret Hoyman (1st place), Mason Griffin (1st place), Matthew Wirtz (2nd place), Nick Schany (2nd place), Jon Lace II (1st place), and Clavin Hart (2nd place).

Article Photos

MASON GRIFFIN tries rolling his opponent onto his back for a pin. Griffin walked away from Sectionals with a First Place victory in the 160 pound class.

Nic Lowe (106-pounds) was defeated by St. Edmond Gael Ryan Duckett by a fall in 1:48 and won the 2nd place match against Jacob Graham of Eagle Grove after a rule having beaten him by a 4-0 decision in the semifinal match.

Sean Brennan (113-pounds), after receiving a quarter final bye, pinned Cade Stearns of Graettinger-Terrill/Ruthven-Ayrshire in the 1st place match after 4:32.

Kelly Griffin (120-pounds) lost in the semifinals to Gabe Rolon of Eagle Grove after being pinned. Kelly was able to secure his bid to districts, however, after pinning Monte Matthews from GT/RA after 1:58.

Levi Aldous (126) got himself a bye in the 1st round and defeated Daltin Roest of Manson Northwest Webster by a hard fought 6-0 decision.

Ethan Berven (132), after pinning Andrew Dencklau of Eagle Grove, went on to the 1st place match and majored Carson Collins of Manson NW Webster with a major decision score of 11-1.

Colton Anderson (138) pinned Peyton Woodbeck of Eagle Grove before heading on to the 1st place match where he pnned Brett Triggs of GT/RA after 3:00.

150-win Spencer Griffin (145) added some more magic to his season by a technical fall over Mark Dawson of Eagle Grove after a 16-1 score at 3:06. He had won in the semifinal round by a 10 second pin against Manson NW Webster's Logan Crouse.

Bret Hoyman (152) won in a 4-1 decision against GT/RA's Lucas Hoffman in the 1st place match after defeating Lane Swenson of South Hamilton in a pin.

Mason Griffin (160) defeated a good Spencer Roth of GT/RA by a 4-2 decision.

Jon Lace II (195) pinned Blake Miller of GT/RA in 4:30.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web