Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Contact Us | Home RSS

Hot Shots Host Final Regular Season Shoot

June 3, 2014
Emmetsburg News

The Emmetsburg High School Hot Shots Trap Shooting Team wrapped up their regular season trapshooting competitions on Saturday May 17 as they hosted a shoot at Sportsmen's Recreation Area north of Cylinder.

Over 100 student athletes from the surrounding area turned out to compete in the event. Shooters came from from Algona, Estherville, Ruthven, the Lakes Area and Emmetsburg.

Shooting for the Emmetsburg Hot Shots in the high school division were Doug Vesey, Allen Jensen, Avery Ringlaben, Connor Crosgrove, Eli Reichert, and Lane VerMulm.

The Hot Shots' Intermediate team of sixth through eighth graders was comprised of Hunter McAlister, Blake VerMulm, Gavin Jorgenson, Tom Crocoll, and Jackson Knight.

The Intermediate Hot Shots would end up placing third, with Blake VerMulm finishing in a four-way tie for third place in the individual scoring.

Also shooting in the Intermediate division were Austin Bergstrom, Dalton Bunda, Jon Lace and Eli Steffen.

The Hot Shots Rookie team of Fifth grade members was made up of Matt Berkland, Lex Kassel, and Donald Strohman. The trio of Rookies would shoot well enough to earn second place, with Matt Berkland earning first place in the Individual shooting scoring and teammate Lex Kassel earning third place honors individually.

Prior to that, the Hot Shots traveled to Milford on May 10 for competition. Rookies finishing strong were Matt Berkland in second place and Donald Strohman earning third place. Intermediate shooters competing were Hunter McAlister, Tom Crocoll, Gavin Jorgenson, Eli Steffen and Zane Wickman.

The Hot Shots competed this past weekend in the High School and Scholastic Clay Target Program State Championships in Cedar Falls on Friday, May 30 for the high school shooters and the Intermediates and Rookies competed on Sunday, June 1.

Serving as volunteer coaches for the Emmetsburg Hot Shot teams are coached by Don Bruch, Bert Naig, Dave Bolte and Brian Garrels.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web