Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Contact Us | Home RSS

Finalists Named For Superintendent Position

Candidate Interviews To Be Conducted Next Week

May 8, 2014
by Dan Voigt , Emmetsburg News

A special meeting of the Emmetsburg Community School Board of Directors on Monday resulted in the selection of four finalists to fill the top leadership post for the local district in the coming school year. Board members met with consultant Jeff Herzberg on May 5 to consider a field of applicants to set up interviews for the impending superintendent's vacancy.

"I received a total of 13 applications for the superintendent's position, and out of those, I have identified six that I believe are the best fit for Emmetsburg," explained Herzberg, who is the administrator of Prairie Lakes Area Education Agency in Pocahontas. "In our conversations, I used the characteristics and qualifications that you as a board expressed as being the primary qualifications for a superintendent."

Herzberg reviewed the guidelines he had used; the candidate had to be an Instructional leader, a Collaborator not only in school, but also in the community and area; Tech Saavy modeling and supporting classroom integration; and Personable and approachable, as well as willing to listen.

Other guidelines Herzberg used were for a candidate to be able to hold people accountable; Visible in the school and the community; an Effective communicator and to have Financial expertise or the right attitude to learn.

The six applicants recommended by Herzberg were:

Bryon Darnell Bureau Chief of Educational Quality, Iowa Department of Education;

Sharon Dentlinger Assistant Superintendent, Diocese of Sioux City;

Donita Joens, Superintendent of Schools, River Valley Community School District, Correctionville;

Tim Johnson, Superintendent of Schools, Southeast Hamilton Community School District, Jewell;

Terry Keanealy, Superintendent of Schools, North Butler Community School District, Greene;

Jon Wiebers, Elementary Principal, Cedar Falls Community School District, Cedar Falls.

After review of the candidates, the board agreed to set up interviews with Byron Darnell, Sharon Dentlinger, Donita Joens and Jon Wiebers, with the interviews to take place on May 14 for Dentlinger and Wiebers and on May 16 for Darnell and Joens. The interviews will begin at 11 a.m. and run through 8:15 p.m. each day. The candidates will spend time with students, support staff, teachers and administrators along with community members and the Board of Education.

In other business at Monday's meeting, the board approved the resignations of Ally Bruhn as a para-educator, Tom Nostrom as Freshman boys basketball coach, and Dan Dooley as Head Girls Track coach. Hirings were approved for Brett Hansen as Head Boys baseball coach for 2015; Jarrod Joynt as Sophomore Football Coach, Jeremy Zeigler as Assistant Football Coach-Trainer and Valerie Pickett as Seventh Grade Girls Basketball coach.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web