Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Contact Us | Home RSS

Local Wrestlers Compete At AAU State Dual Team Tourney

April 1, 2014
Emmetsburg News

DES?MOINES - A pair of Little E-Hawk Wrestling Club members joined wrestlers from Northwest Iowa in representing their district well at the AAU State Dual Team Tournament. Held in Wells Fargo Arena, wrestlers were tapped to participate on the teams based off of their individual performance at the district's state qualifying tournament held in Spencer.

The Dual Team Tournament pits Iowa's eight districts against each other in a team format, giving the young athletes across the region the opportunity to wrestle in a competitive team format. Northwest Iowa came close to again sweeping the championships in all divisions, but fell just short of matching last year's results. The B and C divisions brought home championship trophies while the A division come up just 3 points short of being awarded a spot in the finals dual, ending up in 4th place.

In the A division (3rd and 4th grade) pool duals, Northwest Iowa dominated the East District 67-9, beat the North Central District 39-38, and lost to the Southwest District 36-39. In their placing dual, Northwest Iowa dropped their dual to the South Central District 52-27

Matthew Wirtz of Emmetsburg wrestled for the Northwest District in the Division A competition.

In the B division (5th and 6th grade), Northwest Iowa won their way through the pool duals by defeating the Mid East District 40-39, Northeast District 53-27, and the South Central District 7 65-24. In their championship dual, Northwest Iowa defeated the Southwest District 52-39.

Mason Griffin of Curlew represented the Little E-Hawks on the B Division squad.

Area wrestlers participating on the 2014 Northwest Iowa State Dual Team include:

A Division:

Hunter Kegley, Northern Storm, Sioux City

Payton Arnold, Team Predators, Sioux City

Cade Siebrecht, Fort Dodge Wrestling Club, Alta

Cason Johannes, Lil Orabs, Sheldon

Noah Parmelee, Team Predators, Sioux City

Cullan Koedam, Legends of Gold, Orange City

Sam Zindel, Cherokee Braves, Cherokee

Damon Schmid, Kingsley-Pierson Panthers, Kingsley

Carson Lynott, Legend of Gold, Hawarden

Zavion McMurran, Estherville

Matthew Wirtz, Little E-Hawks, Emmetsburg

Nick Bronstad, HMS Mathawks,, Hartley

Tanner Murray, GTRA Titans, Wallingford

Anthony Larson, HMS Mathawks, Hartley

Easton Fleshman, Doc's Dudes, Inwood

Lyle Moore, HMS Mathawks, Sanborn

Kaiden Miller, North Union Wrestling, Armstrong

Division B:

Wyatt Skudas, Hinton Mathawks, Hinton

Beau Klingensmith, Legends of Gold, Sergeant Bluff

Austin Kegley, Northern Storm, Sioux City

Casey Faulkenberry, Beaver Wrestling Club, Holstein

Adam Allard, Legends of Gold, Akron

Nate Curry, Legends of Gold, Sergeant Bluff

Dillon Lynott, Legends of Gold, Hawarden

Wes Ruden, Ironhawk Wrestling, Spirit Lake

Cale Wood, Cherokee Braves, Cherokee

Wade Mitchell, Woodbury Central Wildcats, Moville

Isaiah Spencer, Okoboji Wrestling Club, Okoboji

Kolby Harrington, Western States Prides, Sioux City

Alex DeRoos, Junkyard Dogs, Aurelia

Mason Griffin, Little E'Hawks, Curlew

Kole Wiegert, Junkyard Dogs, Storm Lake

Brandon Roemeling, Sioux County Grapplers, Boyden

Ryan Sterler, Lil Orabs, Sheldon

Zander Stoltzfus, Team Predators, Sioux City

Kobe Clayborne, Team Predators, Sioux City

Gabe Bronstad, HMS Mathawks, Hartley



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web