Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Contact Us | Home RSS

Cornbelt Honors Area Boys On Elite Teams

February 28, 2013
Dan Voigt , Emmetsburg News

Players from Graettinger-Terril/Ruthven-Ayrshire and West Bend-Mallard/Gilmore City-Bradgate have received post-season accolades by being named to the 2012-2013 Cornbelt Conference All Conference Teams. Selections to the elite honor teams were made at the end of the season by the conference coaches.

Area players named to the First Team All Conference squad for the Titans of GT/RA were senior Austin Dyer and Sophomore Connor Sturgil, while senior Trevor Hagedorn was named to a slot on the Second Team unit.

Earning honors for the Wolverines of WBM/GCB were juniors Jason Zinnel and Jordan Buhs on the First Team, while junior Jesse Zinnel was named to the Second team unit.

For the Titans, Connor Sturgill averaged 14.7 points per game in 21 games, while collecting 9.5 rebounds per contest. Sturgill would also hand out 24 assists to his teammates and made 13 steals on the season while blocking 76 shots. Teammate Austin Dyer averaged 13.2 points during the season and collected 4.3 rebounds per contest, as well as adding 103 assists and making 57 steals while blocking 24 shots on the season. On the Second Team, Trevor Hagedorn averaged 5.6 points per game, and collected 4.2 rebounds per game, as well as handing out 13 helpers, making six steals and blocking eight shots on the season.

For the Wolverines, Jason Zinnel would average 14.7 points per game and collected an average of 7.7 rebounds per contest, while dishing out 47 assists, making 44 steals and blocking 22 shots during the season. Teammate Jordan Buhs averaged 12.5 points per contest in 19 games and averaged 2.8 rebounds per game, as well as dishing out 40 assists to his teammates, while making 39 steals and blocking 5 shots on the season. On the Second Team Jesse Zinnel averaged 13.3 points per game during the 19-game season and collected 1.9 rebounds per contest, while dishing out 64 assists, making 50 steals and blocking eight shots during the campaign.

The complete Cornbelt Conference All Conference Honor Teams for 2012-2013 are as follows:

Cornbelt Conference

First Team All Conference

Connor Sturgill, SO, GT/RA

Austin Dyer, SR, GT/RA

Eli Ihnen, SR, Harris-Lake Park

Kade Heikens, SR, Harris-Lake Park

Tanner Hiveley, SR, Harris-Lake Park

Jason Zinnel, JR, West Bend-Mallard/GCB

Jordan Buhs, JR, West Bend-Mallard/GCB

Shane Mills, SR, North Union

Cornbelt Conference

Second Team All Conference

Chaz Brown, SR, Clay Central-Everly

Josh Hilbert, SR, Corwith-Wesley-LuVerne

Jared Haler, JR, Corwith-Wesley-LuVerne

Trevor Hagedorn, SR, GT/RA

Colin Brons, SR, Harris-Lake Park

Brady VanIperen, SO, Harris-Lake Park

Colton McConnell, SR, North Union

Jesse Zinnel, JR, West Bend-Mallard GCB

Cornbelt Conference

Coach of the Year

Randy Hough, GT/RA


2012-2013 Season

Harris-Lake Park 10-0

Graettinger-Terril/Ruthven-Ayrshire 7-3

West Bend-Mallard/Gillmore City-Bradgate 7-3

North Union 4-6

Corwith-Wesley-LuVerne 2-8

Clay Central-Everly 0-10



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web