Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Contact Us | Home RSS

Area Girls Earn Post-Season Honors In Cornbelt

February 28, 2013
Dan Voigt , Emmetsburg News

Several players from West Bend-Mallard/Gilmore City-Bradgate and Graettinger-Terril/Ruthven-Ayrshire have earned post-season honors with their inclusion on the 2012-2013 Cornbelt Conference All Conference Teams. The selections were made following balloting by the league's coaches at the conclusion of the regular season.

Named to the First Team All Conference squad for the Lady Wolverines was senior Kayla Banwart, while First Team honors were also accorded to Brooke Hoffman, a junior for the GT/RA Titans. Second team honors were bestowed on junior Grace Skattebo of GT/RA and senior Mckenzie Grimm of WBM/GC-B.

For the Lady Wolverines, Kayla Banwart would average 10 points per game and collected an average of 3.2 rebounds per contest, while dishing out 49 assists, making 78 steals and blocking six shots during the season. Teammate McKenzie Grimm averaged 7.5 points per contest in 21 games and averaged 4.4 rebounds per game, as well as dishing out 50 assists to her teammates, while making 41 steals and blocking 25 shots on the season.

For the Titans, Brooke Hoffman would average 11.7 points per game in 21 games, while collecting 3.5 rebounds per contest. Hoffman would also hand out 48 assists to her teammates and made 28 steals on the season. Teammate Grace Skattebo would average 7.1 points during the season and collected 5.6 rebounds per contest, as well as adding 27 assists and making 24 steals while blocking three shots on the season.

The complete Cornbelt Conference Honor Teams for 2012-2013 are as follows:

Cornbelt Conference

First Team All Conference

Blair Montgomery, JR, Clay Central-Everly

Emily Jobst, SR, Clay Central-Everly

Megan Studer, SR, Corwith-Wesley-LuVerne

Brooke Hoffman, JR, GT/RA

Noreen Morrow, JR, Harris-Lake Park

Mariah Gath, SR, Harris-Lake Park

Cheyanne Boland, SR, North Union

Kayla Banwart, SR, West Bend-Mallard/GCB

Cornbelt Conference

Second Team All Conference

Heather Busch, SR, Clay Central-Everly

Grace Skattebo, JR, GT/RA

Miranda Brueggeman, JR, Harris-Lake Park

Macy Gunderson, JR, Harris-Lake Park

Madison Bolig, JR, North Union

Aurora Oliver, JR, North Union

McKenzie Grimm, SR, West Bend-Mallard/GCB

Cornbelt Conference

Coach of the Year

Jenny Spooner, Harris-Lake Park


2012-2013 Season

Harris-Lake Park 9-1

North Union 8-2

Clay Central-Everly 6-4

West Bend-Mallard/GCB 4-6

Graettinger-Terril/Ruthven-Ayrshire 3-7

Corwith-Wesley-LuVerne 0-10



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web