Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Contact Us | Home RSS

Compensation Board To Meet Monday

December 13, 2012
Dan Voigt , Emmetsburg News

The topic of salaries for Palo Alto County's elected officials will be the subject of discussion on Monday, Dec. 17, during the annual meeting of the Palo Alto County Compensation Board. The Compensation Board will convene at 3 p.m. on Monday in the supervisor's boardroom of the Palo Alto County Courthouse with an agenda to discuss salaries for the county's elected officials for fiscal year 2013-2014.

As set forth by the Code of Iowa, the county's Compensation Board determines recommendations for salaries of the elected officials of each county. The Compensation Board is a group of citizens appointed to represent the various elected officials of county government.

Compensation Board members review the wages paid to the elected officials, and then review additional information before making a recommendation for a salary to the county Board of Supervisors. The salary recommendation may be for an increase or a freeze in the amount of compensation for the officials.

Once the salary recommendation has been made, the final decision lies with the county Board of Supervisors, who may approve the Compensation Board's recommendation, or they may lower the recommendation, but the salary may not be raised higher than the original recommendation established by the Compensation Board.

For Fiscal year 2012-2013, the Compensation Board recommended salary increases of 3.6 percent for the county's elected officials for the current fiscal year. However, the Board of Supervisors voted to lower that recommendation to a 1.5 percent increase for the elected officials. That action set the salaries for the elected officials at the following levels for fiscal year 2012-2013: Attorney - $9,247.89; Auditor, Recorder, Treasurer - $50,204.89; Sheriff - $60,313.49; Supervisors - $24,733.64.

Members of the Palo Alto County Compensation Board are John D. Brown of Emmetsburg, representing the County Auditor; Ned Munn of Emmetsburg, representing the County Recorder; Laura Petersen of Graettinger West Bend, representing the County Treasurer; John Spies of Emmetsburg, who represents the County Sheriff and Allen Stangl of Ayrshire and Francis Schealler of Graettinger, both representing the County Board of Supervisors. Fred Perkins of Emmetsburg serves as the representative for the County Attorney.

The Compensation Board meeting is open to the public and public comment, either oral or written is welcomed.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web