Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Contact Us | Home RSS

Area Players Earn All District Honors

November 29, 2011
by Dan Voigt , Emmetsburg News

Several players from West Bend-Mallard/Gilmore City-Bradgate, Graettinger-Terril and Ruthven-Ayrshire have been accorded post season honors for their accomplishments on the gridiron and in the classroom. The Eight-Man District Two All District and Academic All District teams have been released by the coaches of the district teams.

Coach Pete Kapustynski's West Bend-Mallard/Gilmore City-Bradgate Wolverines had a half-dozen players earn roster positions on the All District team. Leading the way was senior quarterback Mitch Bonnstetter, along with senior running back Logan Strient, senior end Matt Goeders and senior defensive lineman Anthony Bruellman. Junior offensive lineman Dustin Johnson also earned a position on the All District team, along with sophomore linebacker Nathan Grimm.

Additionally, seniors Dylan Zaugg as an offensive lineman and Collin Thatcher as a running back, were accorded Honorable Mention recognition on the basis of their play during the season.

For Coach Karlton Hector's Graettinger-Terril Knights, a trio of players were named to the All District team. Senior running back Trent Lundgren and senior offensive lineman Mitch Girres were joined by junior defensive back Blaze Alesch. Earning Honorable Mention recognition from the district coaches were senior cornerback Tyler Dalen, senior split end Colin Leiting and senior linebacker Tym Hart.

Mitch Bonnstetter of West Bend-Mallard/Gilmore City-Bradgate was named as the All-District Punter, while Brett Thackery of Armstrong-Ringsted was named as the All-District Kicker, with Lane Gunderson of Harris-Lake Park being selected as the District Coach of the Year.

The District's Academic All District teams were also announced, with honors going to the student athletes earning and maintaining a 3.5 to 4.0 grade point average during the season.

For the Wolverines of WBM/GCB, eight players were honored for their accomplishments in the classroom. Academic All District honores were seniors Matt Goeders, Kolten Goodchild, Sean Riesenberg and Collin Thatcher, along with juniors Kurt Banwart, Dustin Johnson, Aaron Montag and Ashton Fehr.

The Knights of Graettinger-Terril had four players named to the Academic All District team. Those players were seniors Quinn Parker and Trent Lundgren along with juniors Zach Chicoine and Kyler Dose.

Additionally, Graettinger-Terril's Austin Thompson, a senior, earned Honorable Mention Academic All District recognition for earning and maintaining a 3.25 to 3.49 grade point average.

Coach Larry Swingen and the Ruthven-Ayrshire Raiders had one player named to the Honorable Mention Academic All District team, as senior Logan Bowman was honored for his academic efforts during the season.

The complete District Two All District Teams are as follows:



Dakota Oderman, SR, Linebacker

Tyler Feddersen, SR, Quarterback

Evan Hagebock, SR, End

Matt Larsen, SR, Offensive Line

David Newkirk, SR, Defensive End

Brett Thackery, SR, Defensive End

Jacob Braddock, SO, Running Back

West Bend-Mallard/Gilmore City-Bradgate

Mitch Bonnstetter, SR, Quarterback

Logan Streit, SR, Running Back

Nathan Grimm, SO, Linebacker

Matt Goeders, SR, End

Dustin Johnson, JR, Offensive Line

Anthony Bruellman, SR, Defensive Line

Harris-Lake Park

Nathan Kyle, SR, Offensive Line

Brady Nissen, SR, Linebacker

Colin Brons, JR, Utility

Eli Ihnen, JR, Tight End

Tanner Hiveley, JR, Offensive Line


Josh Hilbert, JR, Defensive End


Trent Lundgren, SR, Running Back

Mitch Girres, SR, Offensive Line

Blaze Alesch, JR, Defensive Back

North Sentral Kossuth

Austin Bierstedt, SR, Linebacker

Zack Hurlburt, SR, Offensive Line


Griff Truslow, SR, OL, A-R

Ty Anderson, JR, LB?, A-R

Dylan Zaugg, SR, OL, WBM/GCB

Collin Thatcher, SR, RB, WBM/GCB

Kade Heikens, SR, SE, H-LP

Connor Gunderson, SR, DE, H-LP

Colin Leiting, SR, SE, G-T

Tyler Dalen, SR, CB, G-T

Tym Hart, SR, LB, G-T

Michael Mather, JR, DL, NSK

Garrett Johnson, JR, LB, NSK

Jacob Adams, JR, RB, NSK

Cody Goetz, SR, DT, CWL

Matthew Burrs, JR, LB, CWL

Preston Jensen, JR, RB, CWL



CJ?Cheever, JR

David Newkirk, SR

Clint McConnell, SR

Evan Hagebock, SR

West Bend-Mallard/Gilmore City-Bradgate

Matt Goeders, SR

Kolten Goodchild, SR

Sean Riesenberg, SR

Kurt Banwart, JR

Dustin Johnson, JR

Aaron Montag, JR

Ashton Fehr, JR

Collin Thatcher, SR

Harris-Lake Park

Connor Gunderson, SR

Colin Brons, JR


Quinn Parker SR

Trent Lundgren, SR

Zach Chicoine, JR

Kyler Dose, JR

North Sentral Kossuth

Garrett Johnson, JR

Joey Stauffer, JR

Travis Larson, SR

Cameron Swalve, JR


Matthew Burrs, JR

Josh Hilbert, JR

Derek Studer, JR

Cody Goetz, SR

Johnny Studer, JR




Tyler Feddersen, SR


Austin Thompson, JR

North Sentral Kossuth

Jacob Adams, JR

Austin Bierstedt, SR

Zach Ditsworth, SR


Andy Hauswirth, JR

Preston Jensen, JR

Spencer Thompson, JR


Logan Bowman, SR



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web